083 454 1620






All news Interior & Decor News Design News Landscape News Property News Build News
Friday, 30 September 2016 09:45

Qualifying entries announced for the AfriSam/SAIA Award for Sustanable Architecture + Innovation

Written by 
Rate this item
(0 votes)
| | |

We are looking forward to another successful AfriSam-SAIA Award during 2016 – when the best sustainable and innovative work in South Africa’s building sector is acknowledged and celebrated. With a record 47 entries in the four award categories, the overwhelming response signals a resounding endorsement of the increasing importance of sustainable and innovative design practice in the South African built environment. We have entered a new era, one in which sustainable design has to be a non-negotiable, integral part of the building industry.

After spending a great deal of time considering all the entries, our adjudicators - Kevin Bingham (convener), Daniel Irurah, Llewellyn van Wyk, Sebasti Badenhorst , Eric Noir and Richard Stretton – have emerged with a shortlist to be further assessed. The 26 projects that have made it onto this list of eligible submissions for this year’s awards have been informed.

The adjudicators have already started crisscrossing the country to conduct in-depth, in-loco inspections of all short-listed entries. Apart from recognising excellence in Sustainable Architecture and Research in Sustainability, the judges will be looking for the most innovative contributions to the fields of Sustainable Products and Technology and Sustainable Social Programmes. Awarded projects will have to demonstrate how they make the world a better place by embodying sound sustainable practices and bear the hallmarks of great architectural or social design and innovative thinking in the field of sustainability.

We look forward to sharing new developments with you as we build up to the announcement of the winners. Here are the qualifying entries:

Category A: Sustainable Architecture

  • African School for Excellence - Local Studio, (Brakpan, Gauteng)
  • Barn house - Strey Architects, (Centurion, Gauteng)
  • BMW Head Office Building - Boogertman+Partners Architects, (Midrand, Gauteng)
  • DEA Building - Boogertman+Partners Architects, (Pretoria, Gauteng)
  • Gorgeous Green House - Sagnelli Associate Architects, (Durban, KwaZulu Natal)
  • Government House Pietermaritzburg - Robert JW Brusse Architect, (Pietermaritzburg, KwaZulu Natal)
  • iCat Eco Factory - Earthworld Architects, (Pretoria, Gauteng)
  • Liv Village - Designworkshop : sa, (Cottonlands, KwaZulu Natal)
  • Maboneng Precinct - Daffonchio & Associate Architects, (Johannesburg, Gauteng)
  • New Business School for NMMU - The Workplace Architects with GAPP, (Port Elizabeth, Eastern Cape)
  • Oudebosch Camp Kogelberg - Architecture Coop, (Kogelberg Biosphere Reserve, Western Cape)
  • Outreach Foundation Community Centre - Local Studio, (Johannesburg, Gauteng)
  • WITS Rural Facility - Kate Otten Architects, (Klaserie, Limpopo)
  • WWF SA Braamfontein - Alive Architecture, (Braamfontein, Gauteng)

CATEGORY B: Research in Sustainability

  • Designing Hope for Pathways to Regenerative Sustainability - Chrisna Du Plessis

CATEGORY C: Sustainable Product/Technology

  • Otto Cottage - Paul Marais, (Maun, Botswana)
  • POD Idladla - Collaborate000
  • Solar Turtle - Ugesi Gold
  • Vodafone Site Solution Innovation Centre - Grosskopff Lombard Huyberechts & Associates, (Midrand, Gauteng)

CATEGORY D: Sustainable Social Programme

  • Bridgingmzamba - buildCollectiveNPO with Carinthia University of Applied Science, (Mbizana, Eastern Cape)
  • Malawi School - Architecture for a Change, (Mchinji, Malawi)
  • Ultimum Refugium - Ntsika Architects

Additional Info

  • Source: AfriSam
  • Name: Maxine Nel
  • Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
  • Landline: 0116705500
  • Website:
Read 415 times Last modified on Friday, 30 September 2016 10:17

Leave a comment